Captured Faithfule

After the session details and a change

Leave a comment

On an average 1 or 2 hour session, it is not uncommon for me to take several hundred shots.  Unfortunately though, that doesn’t mean all those shots are going to result in a good quality image.  I spend lots of hours studying my camera and the technical parts of photography to get a great shot in camera and reduce the amount of editing that needs to be done.  All too often though, especially when shooting more than one person, the best shot of the session needs a head swap or face clone or something because someone’s not looking at the camera or someone else has a squinted eye or whatever.

After a session, I use Lightroom to go through the images shot and make the selects.  Selects are any images that I know I can save in editing, any images where a subject’s expression is priceless (even if it’s not the greatest or most technically sound image), and of course the shots that are pretty great in camera.  Anything I can’t save gets trashed immediately.  Once I have my selects chosen (which is about 25 or 30 per 2-300 shot) I import and edit.  When the edits are completed, I save three copies of the images.  One to an external hard drive, and two copies to DVD.  The DVD’s are stored at two different off-site locations so that in the event my computer and or hard drives were to ever crash, the images aren’t lost forever.

If I’m creating an image disc for the client, I create a disc label from a session image and burn the high-resolution images to disc; however session discs will no longer be included after May 31st.  For those wanting them, they will be available at an extra charge. After May 31st, image selection will be available through a high-resolution thumbnail gallery placed online at Smug Mug and prints will be available for pick-up within 10 to 14 days after ordering.  Additional time may be needed depending on the products selected.

For more information on print pricing, please contact me.

I love hearing from you!

